CMW: Q&A with Juno Nominated, 1977

A few weeks ago on a, what seems to be rare, sunny Sunday afternoon, I couldn’t be bothered to do much of anything aside from listening to an array of indie videos on Youtube. While I wasted away my me day, the chilled tunes took an interesting turn that had be rushing for my computer screen to see what great concoction was playing. A sweetly bright melody began playing, immediately the song was catchy, but once the singer began I left my thoughts and focused on the uniqueness that is Julie from 1977. The song was called everyday and had been released a few days previous. The sound is a mix of psychedelic indie pop mixed with a dark alternative with some R&B thrown at you every now and again.With the announcement of 1977 performing at Canadian Music Week, The Dakota Tavern May 1st and at Cherry Cola’s on May 5th of course I had to write about the sweetly dark sound that is a great take on ‘60s influenced rock. But who better to explain the sound than the woman herself?

Enjoy my Q&A with Julie from 1977.

1977

Q: How would you describe your sound?

A: Sad songs done happy.

Q: Who are your biggest influences?

A: The Beatles have always been with me.

Q: The EP was inspired by the demolition of your childhood home, what inspired the album?

A: I was reflecting on time, dreams, and relationships.

Q: What is the best part of performing in the city and where is your favourite place to perform?

A: My favourite place to play is my living room. We‘ve got a piano and a drum kit set up in one end of the room so performances can happen at any moment. I’ve been overcoming stage fright so being able to belt it out at home has been helpful because I know the neighbours can hear me and they haven’t complained yet.

Q: The first CD was self-produced, is there anything you’re currently working on for the future? (If so) How will the sound differ or relate to the past works?

A: I’m getting ready to release my third album that I recorded last year. I went into a studio to record and worked with two producers for this one. It’s spashly, crashy, complicated and simple all at the same time. I love it!

Q: What can fans look forward to when seeing you perform at Canadian Music Week?

A: Songs they haven’t heard yet. We’ll play some old ones but mostly we’ll be playing songs from the album that’s coming out later this summer.

Leave a comment